Route Finding School 
Feb 22-26, 2017
Description
The Chemeketan Route Finding School will teach you how to use a map, compass and GPS. The training is designed for beginners and those who need a refresher. This three-part training focuses on learning and practicing map, compass and GPS skills. Part one "Using Maps" is a two and one-half hour lecture and will focus solely on map reading skills. Parts two and three will focus on compass and GPS skills respectively. Both will consist of equal parts lecture and field session practice. Lectures will be held at Loucks Auditorium at the Salem Public Library. Field sessions will be a short distance away at Salem's Riverfront Park. Participants will be given a complimentary orienteering compass. Please bring your own GPS or smart phone for the Sunday session. Space is limited to 100 participants. The cost is only $30 and covers the cost of your Route Finding Notebook, practice maps, compass, refreshments and facility rental.

Make checks payable to the Chemeketans and mail to the leader:
Steve Dougherty, PO Box 9, Lyons, OR 97358.

Schedule:
Part 1: Using Maps Wed. Feb 22 6:30 p.m.-9:00 p.m.
Part 2: Using Map and Compass Sat. Feb 25 10:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Part 3: Using a GPS Sun. Feb 26 1:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m.

Prerequisite:
none

Roster
School Coordinator
Steve Dougherty 503-566-8899 steve2756@gmail.com
Co-Coordinators
Jeff Howell 503-999-4809 JeffreyJHowell@gmail.com
Assistants
Linda Bedard 503-297-7103 ljbedard@earthlink.net
Craig Blanton 503-260-9259 craigblanton7@gmail.com
Milan Apeltauer Private hyside14sb@yahoo.com
Mark Olson 503-835-4001 mark.olson06@gmail.com
Michael DeLaune 503-378-1456 michaeldel_jk@comcast.net
Jon Ellis 503-391-7008 jonandvickie@comcast.net
Paid Students
1. Diana Anderson 9712841198 dianaAR21@msn.com
2. Heather Yunck Private yunckette@yahoo.com
3. Billy Bob Davis 9712373628 wdavis07@wou.edu
4. Signe Wright Private shwright_07@comcast.net
5. James Green 503-551-0896 Greenjameseii@gmail.com
6. Frosty Gill 503-551-2625 forrestcgill@gmail.com
7. Julie Gilreath 503-623-8516 jagshine775@yahoo.com
8. Jan Hamilton 7575818742 jh718_2@hotmail.com
9. Clinton Lindsey 5412244957 clint.wsg@gmail.com
10. Shonee Langford Private langfordfam@hotmail.com
11. Cynthia Cleary 2095346906 cynthia_cleary1@yahoo.com
12. Kayla Brinda Private kaylabrinda.smile@hotmail.com
13. Kathy Dalton Private kmdalton1@gmail.com
14. Terry Hutchinson Private hutch6663@comcast.net
15. Tom Gerold Private TWGEROLD@msn.com
16. Monique Damuth 4062102918 kdamuth@live.com
17. Janet Graybeal 702-526-8446 maxjanpow@comcast.net
18. Mike Ritchey Private mike.ritchey@comcast.net
19. Dan Vaughan Private Vauostheim@aol.com
20. Noelle Marier 5039993278 likemagic@comcast.net
21. Charles Brown 503-341-6410 howzlifebeen@yahoo.com
22. Robin Brandt 808-230-6573 Robin.in.manoa@gmail.com
23. Kathleen Annese Private kateiagn@gmail.com
24. Garry Steffy 541-990-2710 garrysteffy@comcast.net
25. Robert Coronado Private robertcoronado@comcast.net
26. Tom Boettger 503-302-6644 slicedrop@hotmail.com
27. Norris Jackson Private norrjack@hotmail.com
28. Bob McSween 503-989-4552 bkakmcsween@comcast.net
29. Jack Dalton Private jbdsalem@gmail.com
30. ALEX MARRERO 5037050713 beavdent@Yahoo.com
31. Jeff Anderson 503-873-8251 blackjackjjt@gmail.com
32. Molly Garmire Private molly.garmire@gmail.com
33. Erma Hamilton Private erma6star@hotmail.com
34. Eddie Thompson 407-902-8387 thompsoneddie@bellsouth.net
35. Rebecca Hilkey 5039898258 rhilkey52@hotmail.com
36. Nancy George Private nancygeorge2166@gmail.com
37. Steve Stadeli Private westerberg@molalla.net
38. Jeannine White Private jean9mw@gmail.com
39. Jennifer Godfrey Private jennejackson@netscape.net
40. John Borden 503-723-4257 jeborden@comcast.net
41. Karen Hutchinson Private kts3hutch@gmail.com
42. Lauren Goddard 801-690-4144 laurengoddard08@yahoo.com
43. Mark Parsell Private arpnap@aol.com
44. Sean Wilde Private sean_wilde13@hotmail.com
45. Linda Robinson 5039994510 lindarobinsonlmt@gmail.com
46. JUDI MORRIS Private morris_judi@hotmail.com
47. Susan Christensen Private N/A
48. John and Kat Hill Private Ktrac.2017@gmail.com
49. kenneth jones 4042857733 surlysinglespeed@hotmail.com
50. Kat Jones Private MrsSurly@gmail.com
51. Sheri Hilgers 5039818791 bunk_ers@msn.com
52. Rebecca Horlacher Private rebecca.horlacher@gmail.com
53. Russ williams 5419902051 ruwilliams97321@gmail.com
54. Micah Keto 5038593225 ketojm83@wvi.com
55. Bill Bissell 6617475308 wcbissell@hotmail.com
56. Sarah LaRue Private slarue117@gmail.com
57. Pamela Campbell 5035092610 pkfreckles@sbcglobal.net
58. Ginny Ryan Private ggryan35@msn.com
59. Gary Ryan Private gryanlandscaping@gmail.com
60. Brandon Strong 5039698833 bstrong1@gmail.com
61. David Rowell 5035592399 rowell53@gmail.com
62. Christopher Canfield Private N/A
63. Cathy Jensen 5035809298 cjensen6814@gmail.com
64. Dwight Rackie Private
65. Leslie Evans Private
66. Julie TitchBaura Private
67. Chris Leesman Private cwleesm@gmail.com
68. Nick Secrest Private Npsecrest@q.com
69. Jeff Keto 5038814542 ketojm83@wvi.com

Itinerary
Wed. 2/22
6:30 PM - Part 1: Using Maps (2.5 hour lecture at Loucks Auditorium)
Sat. 2/25
10:00 AM - Part 2: Using Map & Compass (3 hour lecture at Loucks Auditorium)
1:00 PM - Part 2: Using Map & Compass (2 hour field session at Riverfront Park)
Sun. 2/26
1:00 PM - Part 3: Using GPS (3 hour lecture at Loucks Auditorium)
4:00 PM - Part 3: Using GPS (2 hour field session at Riverfront Park)

Rules
1. In case of accident, illness or other incapacity, the participant must pay for his/her own medical/evacuation expense, whether or not authorized by him/her.
2. Pets, firearms, radios (two-way radios are OK), and alcoholic beverages are not permitted on trips.

Route
No route information is available for this trip.

Check List
Clothing
  boots
  hat, warm
  jacket, rain
  pants, rain
  warm synthetic jacket
Handy Bag
  GPS (optional)
  orienteering compass
  Talk-About Radio (channel 10 code 5) (optional)

Transportation
No drivers have volunteered their vehicles. Login to the trip signup page to volunteer a vehicle.
Driving Directions
Loucks Lecture Hall is located in the Salem Public Library at 645 Liberty St SE, Salem, OR.
 
Round Trip Driving Distance:  0 miles
The suggested mileage donation is $0.00 @ 9 cents per mile.